The Mail Carrier

By: Anthony Baker

Aug 01 2011

Tags: , , , , , ,

Category: Architecture, Family, Heritage, Landmarks

Leave a comment

Aperture:f/2.8
Focal Length:3.85mm
ISO:500
Shutter:1/16 sec
Camera:iPhone 4

When I was a small child, my dad used to pick me up above his head so that I could touch the mail man. I remember feeling like I was a mile high.

This original work of art, a sculpture by Leopold Scholz (1938), cast in solid aluminum, stands 8 feet tall. Still impressive to me, even though I am much older, it speaks of a simpler day when mail was carried by men, not the internet.

The Mail Carrier is set in one of the two beautiful entrances that lead into the Joel W. Solomon Federal Building (where Jimmy Hoffa was convicted in 1964). Built in the Art Moderne style between the years of 1932-33, this building, a court house and post office, was recognized in 1938 by the American Institutes of Architects as one of the “150 most beautiful buildings built in the last 20 years.”

Every once in a while, when I am feeling nostalgic, I return to “the big mail man.” There I stand on my own two feet where my father used to lift me so high. Now I am the dad.

Click here for a link that tells about the building.

Leave a Reply

