Hope Blooms

By: Anthony Baker

Sep 13 2011

Tags: , , , ,

Category: Hope

1 Comment

Aperture:f/2.8
Focal Length:3.85mm
ISO:100
Shutter:1/40 sec
Camera:iPhone 4

Just this morning I was walking from my bus, past the front of my church’s flowerbed, I saw this.

It was only a few days ago that nothing was growing here. All the flowers and even the weeds were dead. Over a month without rain, along with scorching temperatures, was evidently more than they could handle. The last time I walked by I remember saying to myself, “How sad.”

Then, after a couple of nights dealing with tragedy and grief, impossible situations that only God can remedy, I see these flowers in a once-dead flowerbed.

Two things come to mind. For one, even when all seems lost, hold on to hope. Secondly, what seemed dead and gone was only on the surface. There was evidently a germinating seed of life somewhere in that dry dirt. All it needed to bloom was a heavenly shower.

“Why am I discouraged? Why is my heart so sad? I will put my hope in God! I will praise him again– my Savior and my God!” – Psalm 42:11 NLT

“For thou art my hope, O Lord GOD: thou art my trust from my youth.” – Psalm 71:5 KJV

One comment on “Hope Blooms”

  1. You don’t even understand how much this one is speaking to my heart tonight! Thank you!


Leave a Reply

