Rainbow Over the Valley

By: Anthony Baker

Jan 13 2014

Tags: ,

Category: BeFunky, Bible, nature, weather

Leave a comment

This was a double rainbow seen from the elementary school this morning. I got off the bus to take the picture.

It’s not the best photo, I understand, because the light was dim and this is only, after all, an iPhone 4S. BUT, I hope you get the picture (pun intended)

Looking at this made me think about the whole “rainbow” culture, and then the true meaning behind the rainbow. So many have made the rainbow a symbol of the anti-God, anti-religious organizations so common today. Ironically, the Bible mentions the rainbow as a sign of a covenant between God and man – a promise resulting from His judgment on sin.

Genesis 9:11-16 KJV – “[11] And I will establish my covenant with you; neither shall all flesh be cut off any more by the waters of a flood; neither shall there any more be a flood to destroy the earth. [12] And God said, This is the token of the covenant which I make between me and you and every living creature that is with you, for perpetual generations: [13] I do set my bow in the cloud, and it shall be for a token of a covenant between me and the earth. [14] And it shall come to pass, when I bring a cloud over the earth, that the bow shall be seen in the cloud: [15] And I will remember my covenant, which is between me and you and every living creature of all flesh; and the waters shall no more become a flood to destroy all flesh. [16] And the bow shall be in the cloud; and I will look upon it, that I may remember the everlasting covenant between God and every living creature of all flesh that is upon the earth.”

Leave a Reply

